ETIAS Visa Waiver for entry Austria

The ETIAS travel authorization was created as an added security measure to fight Europe’s migration crisis and recent terror attacks. It will be pivotal in identifying individuals that may pose a threat to the Schengen Area and its citizens.

Citizens from eligible countries are required to obtain an ETIAS visa waiver to travel to Austria. Travelers will be able to complete their ETIAS application for Austria quickly by filling out an online application.

The European Union announced that the new European Travel Information and Authorization System, ETIAS, will be implemented in the end of 2022.

What is ETIAS?

ETIAS stands for European Travel Information and Authorization System is a travel authorization for citizens of eligible countries who wish to visit Austria or any of the countries in the Schengen Zone. It is an electronic, multi-entry visa, that allows eligible citizens to travel to Austria and any of the Schengen Area member-states.

The European Parliament announced the creation of the ETIAS travel authorization to increase the security of Europe’s borders, to prevent illegal immigration. The ETIAS system was created to identify individuals that may pose a threat to the Schengen Area, by screening travelers before they can travel to the region. The ETIAS system will be able to assess individuals who wish to enter the region, and deny entry to any person who can pose a potential threat or risk to the EU.

Who needs to apply for an ETIAS?

The ETIAS Austria is a requirement for third-country nationals from visa-free countries who wish to visit Austria or any of the Schengen member countries. To obtain the ETIAS visa waiver, travelers will need to complete an ETIAS online form with their passport details and personal information.

Citizens from previously visa-exempt citizens will need to complete an online ETIAS Austria application before they travel to the Schengen Zone. In order to obtain an ETIAS, applicants will have to provide personal and passport details.
Nationals from the following countries are eligible to apply for an ETIAS Visa Waiver.

Requirements to enter Austria with an ETIAS visa waiver

Citizens from eligible countries are required to apply for an ETIAS permit to travel to Austria. to apply for an ETIAS for Austria, applicants must meet the following requirements:

  • A valid passport from an eligible country with a minimum validity of 3 months from arrival date
  • A debit or credit card
  • A valid email address

Applicants are required to have a passport valid for at least three months from the date of arrival to obtain an ETIAS visa waiver. Without a valid passport, an ETIAS cannot be issued.

The ETIAS Austria is a multi-entry visa, valid for 3 consecutive years, and allows its holder to stay in the Schengen Area for a maximum of 90 days within 180 days. If the passport expires before the ETIAS visa waiver, it will be necessary to complete a new ETIAS application with the renewed passport.

How to apply for an ETIAS?

Applicants are required to complete an online form with their personal details and passport information to obtain an ETIAS for Austria. They will also need to provide information regarding their employment and education and answer a few security questions, related to public health risks, and criminal records. Children under the age of 18 are also required to have a valid ETIAS travel authorization to enter Austria.

To complete an ETIAS visa waiver application form, travelers will need to provide the following information:

  • Full name
  • Date and place of birth
  • Address
  • Gender
  • Nationality
  • Passport number
  • Passport issuing and expiration date

Applicants will also be required to indicate the member state of first entry. Once the application form is complete, applicants will need to pay for the ETIAS processing fee with a debit or credit card. Without payment, travelers will not be able to submit their application.

Once payment is submitted, the system will process the application, and the traveler should receive a response within a maximum of 48h after submitting their ETIAS application. Once approved, an ETIAS holder can travel to any of the 26 Schengen member countries for a total stay of up to 90 days in the region within a 180-day period. The approved ETIAS permit will be sent to the email address provided in the application.

By using our website you accept our Cookies Policy. Click here, to know more. I agree