Schengen Visa for entry Austria

What is Schengen agreement?

The Schengen Area is the area formed by 26 countries that have signed the Schengen Agreement, which regulates the free movement of people, goods, services, and capital among its members. Citizens of these 26 countries can move freely within member-states without the need for a passport, tourist visa or residence permit. The Schengen Area also has a common visa policy.

The Schengen Agreement was first signed by five of the ten member states of the then European Economic Community, Belgium, France, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, and West Germany, on June 14, 1985. Currently a total of 26 countries.

The Schengen area is not the same as the European Union. Although most of the countries that have entered the Schengen Agreement are members of the European Union, some that are part of the Schengen zone are not members of the EU. There are also countries that are part of the EU but are not part of the Schengen agreement.

The member states of the Schengen Agreement are:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Luxembourg
  • Netherlands
  • Germany
  • France
  • Spain
  • Portugal
  • Sweden
  • Finland
  • Denmark
  • Lithuania
  • Latvia
  • Estonia
  • Poland
  • Slovakia
  • Hungary
  • Slovenia
  • Italy
  • Greece
  • Czech Republic
  • Malta
  • Liechtenstein
  • Iceland
  • Norway
  • Switzerland

Who needs a Schengen Visa to enter Austria?

The Schengen Agreement regulations stipulate that citizens of the countries listed below need a valid Schengen visa to visit Austria.

  •  Afghanistan
  • Algeria
  • Angola
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Armenia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bahrain
  • Bangladesh
  • Belarus
  • Belize
  • Benin
  • Bhutan
  • Bolivia
  • Botswana
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cambodia
  • Cameroon
  • Cape Verde
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • China
  • Colombia
  • Comoros
  • Congo
  • Cuba
  • Djibouti
  • Dominica
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • Egypt
  • Equatorial
  • Guinea
  • Eritrea
  • Ethiopia
  • Fiji
  • Gabon
  • Gambia
  • Georgia
  • Ghana
  • Grenada
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Ivory Coast
  • Jamaica
  • Jordan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Korea
  • Kuwait
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Laos
  • Lebanon
  • Lesotho
  • Liberia
  • Libya
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Maldives
  • Mali
  • Marshall
  • Islands
  • Mauritania
  • Micronesia
  • Moldova
  • Mongolia
  • Morocco
  • Mozambique
  • Myanmar
  • Namibia
  • Nauru
  • Nepal
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Northern Marianas
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Palau
  • Papau New Guinea
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Qatar
  • Russia
  • Rwanda
  • Saint Helena and dependencies
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Samoa
  • São Tomé and Principe
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Senegal
  • Sierra Leone
  • Solomon Islands
  • Somalia
  • South Africa
  • Sri Lanka
  • Sudan
  • Suriname
  • Swaziland
  • Syria
  • Taiwan
  • Tajikistan
  • Tanzania
  • Thailand
  • Timor-Leste
  • Togo
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • Turkmenistan
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • Ukraine
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Uzbekistan
  • Vanuatu
  • Vietnam
  • Yemen
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Schengen Visa Requirements

When applying for a tourist Schengen Visa for Austria, travelers will have to meet the eligibility requirements set by the member-states, and submit documents as part of the visa application process.

The documents listed below are required for any short-term Schengen visa application:

  • Schengen visa application form
  • Passport, or similar travel document, valid for at least three months
  • Two passport size photos taken within the last three months
  • Travel Insurance with a minimum 30,000 € coverage of medical emergencies.
  • An invitation letter that explains the purpose of your trip
  • Itinerary specifying entry and exit dates from Austria, and if applicable, flight numbers
  • Hotel reservations, or similar proof of accommodation
  • Proof of sufficient funds for the duration of your stay in Austria
  • Proof of marital status, such as certificates

Some Austrian Embassies may require specific documents from applicants depending on their employment status and depending on the type of Schengen visa applied for, like bank statements, Affidavit of Support,should the applicant lack the sufficient funds to apply for the visa, or even a travel Itinerary, describing the nature and duration of their trip.

Once the Schengen Visa application form is completed and signed, applicants must contact their local Embassy to schedule an appointment.

Applicants must pay a non-refundable administration fee when applying for a Schengen visa, to process the visa application.

How to process a Schengen Visa?

To apply for a tourist Schengen Visa, applicants must complete a form, gather the required supporting documents, attend a meeting at the Embassy, and pay the visa processing fees. Applicants can file their application at the Embassy or Consulate of the country of arrival in the Schengen Area, or the country where they will spend the most time.

Applying for a Schengen Visa for Austria takes time. The applicant must make sure all documents meet the requirements, complete an application form, and request an interview at an Austrian Embassy.

The earliest one can apply for a Schengen Visa is three months before the arrival date, and the latest is three weeks before date of arrival.

Schengen Visa holders can stay in the Schengen area for a maximum of 90 days within a 180 days period. The validity of the visa depends on the embassy, as well as the date of entry in the Schengen Zone. This information is explained in the Schengen visa sticker the embassy will place in the applicant’s passport.

By using our website you accept our Cookies Policy. Click here, to know more. I agree